Tuition and Other Fees
The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU must reserve the right, even after fees are initially charged or initial fee payments are made, to increase or modify any listed fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory system wide fees, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU listed fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the Chancellor, or the Presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory system wide fees will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028-66028.6 of the Education Code)
Details about a potential increase for 2018-19 can be found here:
Student tuition and fee rates may be determined by several sources.
- The California legislature
- The California State University Board of Trustees
- University President
- Campus Fee Advisory committee
- Student Fee Referendum or Alternative Consultation
Basic Tuition and Fees are required of all Students. Non-resident (Out of State/Foreign) and Graduate Business students pay the Basic Tuition and Fees as listed below and additional per unit tuition and fees. Please see the Non-Resident and Professional Program Fee sections below.
Thesis extension, other zero unit courses and half unit courses are charged as one unit for fee purposes. Auditors pay the same fee as students carrying courses for credit.
For specific tuition information as well as policies, deadlines, and financial aid disbursements, please see the Money Matters guide.
In addition to Basic Tuition and Fees, Out of State and Foreign students will be charged tuition for all units attempted at a rate of $396 per unit.
For tuition purposes, zero unit and half unit courses are counted as one unit. Auditors pay the same tuition as students carrying courses for credit.
Non-Resident Tuition must be paid in full prior to the first day of classes of each semester. If you are subject to Non-Resident Tuition and do not pay in full prior to the first day of classes or submit a Non-Resident Installment contract, service charges will be assessed, and late charges will apply.
If Non-Resident Tuition is not paid prior to the 20th class day (University Census), your registration will be canceled.
Graduate students in the College of Business must pay $270 per unit for all units taken as a requirement for graduation with the following degrees. This fee is in addition to Basic Tuition and Fees and Non-Resident Tuition.
- MS Accountancy
- MBA Master of Business
- MS Business Administration
- MS Information Systems
The Profession Program Fee must be paid in full prior to the first day of classes each semester. If you are subject to this fee and do not pay it in full prior to the start of classes, late charges will apply.
Your registration will be canceled if the Professional Program Fee is not paid prior to the 20th day of classes (University Census).