CAMPUS FEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

March 13, 2023

MINUTES

Members: Norma Aguilar Meena Alexander

Brandon Bartosh Jazmyn Horton-Alvarado

Julieanna Gutierrez Sophia Koch
Mary Anne Kremicki Karen Macauley
Sandy Mekany Shawki Moore
Rashmi Praba Katie Robinson
Savanna Schuermann Satish Sharma
Mayah Taylor Robson Winter

Amanda Wilson

Guests: Approximately 35-40 in-person

The meeting was called to order at 3:34 P.M. by Katie Robinson, CFAC Chair.

Review and Approval Meeting Minutes

Robinson asked if there were any questions or comments for the last meeting's minutes before the committee moved to approve. There were none. Satish Sharma made a motion to approve. Brandon Bartosh seconded the motion. Meeting minutes were approved unanimously.

Public Comment

a. The following students spoke in response to the proposed Out of State and International Student Fee: Ilias Benbatoul, Ally Gallant, Nick Ables, Gabriel Silva, Jaume Toomer, Tarek Morsy, Lily Eckoff, Nathaniel Shaby, Derrick Herrera, Alan Doran, Juan Menjivar, Sharon Sabino, Claire Theroux. Most of the students spoke to the importance of the academic support, research, and especially student financial aid, but voiced opposition to these being funded through a fee. Several students spoke to the alternative consultation process and shared they would like to see expanded student engagement in the fee process. The feedback also included a request that the middle-class scholarship be expanded to support undocumented students as well as those from out of state. Vice President of Research & Innovation Hala Madanat spoke to the benefits of the fee in advancing research on campus. Approximately 25-30 additional students were guests in attendance but did not speak.

Proposals

b. None

Action Items

a. Out of State and International Student Fee- Approve Recommendation to President

Robinson invited a discussion on the proposed fee prior to the vote. The students all spoke to their impression of the proposed fee and the student feedback. Many of the comments echoed those shared in the public comment. While the purpose of the fee was largely supported, they did not feel like the burden to fund those activities should land on students. They felt investment in those areas would likely have a positive impact on students, but it

would be offset by the adverse impact of the additional fee. Mayah noted that there may be some students who are out of state but may still have been born in California or have another connection that would entice them to attend SDSU, and the university should still be accessible to them. Jazmyn Horton- Alvarado added that if the fee were approved, she would want to ensure that Imperial Valley students would receive the same benefits. Several of the students shared that they felt the process didn't adequately capture student sentiment, as the participation in the open forums was low, and not all students who attended submitted feedback.

Mary Anne Kremicki briefly discussed the additional staffing proposed by the fee and the additional level of support it would be able to provide students, both in the classroom, and in degree planning.

Rashmi Praba spoke to the impact the additional financial aid would have on underrepresented students or those experiencing crisis. She shared that campus demand for emergency economic resources is increasing.

Satish Sharma was conflicted because he saw the need for additional investment but did not want to apply it to students who did not see the value in the fee. For that reason, he supported that it would only be charged to incoming students, not those already on campus, so they could determine the value prior to making an admission decision.

Savanna Shuermann noted she did not support the fee as currently proposed, although she supported the aid to ECRT, Native American Students, and support for other marginalized communities such as undocumented students.

Moore moved to not recommend the fee, and Robinson asked for clarification on what the no and yes votes would mean to that motion. Moore reframed the motion to "de-recommend the fee" and requested a roll-call vote. The members voted as follows:

Shawki- Yay Meena- Yay Robson- Yav Sophia- Yay Sandy- Yay Brandon- Yay Mayah- Yay Jazmyn- Yay Julieanna- Yay Satish- Abstain Karen- Nay Savanna- Yay Mary Anne- Nay Rashmi- Nay Katie- Nay Amanda- Nay

Robinson thanked the members of the committee and the public for voicing their opinions. She shared that she would forward the results of the vote to the president along with the minutes.

Informational Items

a. Spring Meeting Dates

Robinson informed the committee they would need to meet after the last scheduled meeting to review an additional agenda item and she would be putting holds on their calendars into

May.

Requests

a. None

New Business

a. None

Robinson adjourned the meeting at 4:29 P.M.

Reminder: Next meeting is scheduled for Friday, March 24th 2023 at 11:00 am. via Zoom.