All refund checks will be mailed to the address on file with the Office of the Registrar. Make sure that your address is updated at SDSU-WebPortal to ensure timely delivery of your refund.
Regulations governing the refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, are included in Section 41802 of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. For purposes of the refund policy, mandatory fees are defined as those system-wide fees and campus fees that are required to be paid in order to enroll in state-supported academic programs at the California State University.
When a student who has received Title IV financial aid withdraws, or otherwise fails to complete a period of enrollment for which he or she was charged, the institution is required to determine if a refund must be made to the student or if unearned aid must be returned to the federal accounts. Calculations will be based on the withdrawal date and the percentage of the period of enrollment completed. If Title IV funds have been disbursed during the enrollment period, aid will first be returned by the institution to the programs in the order listed below as required by law and determined by the university. If funds have been disbursed directly to the student, he or she may be required to repay any unearned aid. In some cases where eligibility for aid exceeds the amount disbursed, the regulations allow for a post-withdrawal disbursement, the university will notify you of the process required to receive the funds.
Title IV Financial Aid consists of the following programs:
Unsubsidized William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan
Subsidized William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan
Federal Perkins Loan
William D. Ford Federal Direct PLUS Loan
Federal Pell Grant
Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG)
National Smart Grant
Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
Federal Teach Grant
Examples of refund calculations are available upon request at the University Cashiers Office.
To receive a full refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition and graduate business professional fee, you must officially withdraw, or otherwise cancel your registration, prior to the first day of instruction for the term. A refund administrative fee of $21.00 will be withheld. Students are not required to file a refund application. Please note: if you do not complete the official withdrawal process, and only drop your classes online, your refund will not be processed until after the census date.
Students will also receive a full refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition (no refund administrative fee withheld) under the following circumstances:
- The tuition and mandatory fees were assessed or collected in error
- The course for which the tuition and mandatory fees were assessed or collected was cancelled by the university
- The University makes a delayed decision that the student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which the mandatory fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to incomplete or inaccurate information provided by the student
- The student was activated for compulsory military service
Starting with the first day of instruction, refunds for complete withdrawal or cancellation of registration will be prorated, based on the date of withdrawal and the percentage of the period of enrollment completed. A refund administrative fee of $21.00 will be withheld. It is not necessary to file an application for refund.
Prorated refunds will be processed for a student’s complete withdrawal up to the 60 percent point of the term. A student who withdraws from the university after the 60 percent point in the academic period, or fails to officially withdraw from the campus shall not be entitled to any refund of tuition or mandatory fees. After the drop/add deadline of the semester, schedule adjustments are only permitted for extremely serious, documented cases involving health or accident.
To determine the percentage and/or refund amount, see the Class Schedule for the appropriate semester.
Fee Refunds Based On Unit Load
A student who, within the schedule adjustment period and in accordance with campus procedures, drops from 6.1 units or more to 6.0 units or less, or a student who paid maximum fees, but never obtained over 6.0 units, shall receive a refund of applicable tuition and mandatory fees. A refund administrative fee of $21.00 will be withheld. It is not necessary to file a refund application. Refunds of this type will not be processed until after the census date.
Parking Fee Refunds
To be eligible for a parking refund, your parking permit must be turned in to the Student Account Services Office at the time you file your refund application. Refund applications are available at the Student Account Services Office. The amount of refund is rounded down to the nearest dollar. No refund is made for amounts of less than $5. Refunds may be applied against other amounts due the university.
If you are withdrawing and have purchased a parking permit for the term, you must return it to the University to receive a refund. You may turn it in at the Office of the Registrar at the time you are withdrawing or at the Student Account Services Office.
APPEALS PROCESS – STUDENT ACCOUNT SERVICES
An appeals process exists for students who feel that individual circumstances warrant exceptions from published policy. Students should file a “Petition for Special Consideration” obtainable at the University Cashiers Office. Petitions must be filed with the Student Account Services Office prior to the end of the twelfth week of classes.
Petitions for refunds outside the scope of published policy are approved only when applicants can demonstrate exceptional circumstances, and the chief financial officer or designee determines that the university did not earn the fees and tuition.
Information on this Web site is subject to change without notice. Every effort is made to ensure that information is current and accurate. The statements found on this Web site are for informational purposes only.